MSHOF inducts class of 2021


SPRINGFIELD, Mo. — The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame inducted 20 new individuals into its ranks Sunday as its Class of 2021.

The late Derrick Thomas of the Chiefs and Kansas City Royals GM Dayton Moore headlined the group.

“It’s obviously very humbling to be inducted into the hall of fame in a state, in a community, in a region that you love and admire so many people,” Moore said.

Some of the other names going included Jim Middleton who was an assistant coach for the Lady Bears 1992 Final Four, later coaching at SBU for 14 years.

“It wasn’t anything that I really aspired towards,” Middleton said. “I just wanted to go out there and get to coach and enjoy what you do.”

Also, Webb City head football coach John Roderique who’s won the most state championships in Missouri history with 12 for his alma mater.

“It kind of makes you think maybe it’s time to start looking at not coaching,” Roderique joked. “Maybe somebody is trying to tell me I need to be retired. I kind of wonder about that a little bit, Jason. No, it’s really obviously very humbling. I’m very honored to receive this.”

Former KOLR10 Sports Director Tom Mast also received the honor, entering his 50th year in the sports journalism business including 12 at KOLR10.

Here was the full list of inductees:

  • Kansas City Chiefs linebacker Derrick Thomas
  • Kansas City Royals General Manager Dayton Moore
  • Former St. Louis Cardinals president Mark Lamping
  • Angler Edwin Evers
  • Webb City football coach John Rodrique
  • Glendale swimming coach Jim Whytlaw
  • Kickapoo and Drury basketball star Alex Hall
  • Sports journalist Tom Mast
  • Springfield philanthropist Bobby Allison
  • Missouri State football’s Dennis Heim
  • Nixa and SBU women’s hoops coach Jim Middleton
  • Golf long drive champ Dan Boever
  • Southeast Missouri basketball’s Pat Colon
  • Missouri State baseball’s Paul Evans
  • Mizzou soccer coach Bryan Blitz
  • Warrensburg cross country program and coach Ron Clawson
  • The Missouri State Sugar Bears
  • The Mizzou football chain crew
  • Poplar Bluff high school golf
  • President’s Award recipient Cookie Rice

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Send2News/ Sports Player

Ozarks High School Sports

More Ozarks High School Sports

Trending Stories

Sports Tweets