President Obama Declares Disaster for Arkansas

FEMA graphic.jpg
Make It Count

WASHINGTON, D.C.- FEMA has announced that federal disaster aid has become available for the State of Arkansas to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding.

According to the release, the President’s action makes federal funding available to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding in these counties: Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Cleveland, Columbia, Desha, Lincoln, Ouachita, Phillips, and Prairie.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Charles Maskell has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Maskell said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local Sports

More Local Sports

World News

More World News
Make It Count

Trending Stories

Washington DC Bureau

Washington DC Bureau

Newsfeed Now

More Newsfeed Now