Monday: FEMA Teams Begin Working with Flood Survivors


JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — If you live in one of 27 flood-hit Missouri counties, you might see someone knocking on your door to help you register for disaster assistance.

Federal Emergency Management Agency representatives are scheduled to start Monday in Carter, Franklin, Jefferson, Howell, Newton, Ripley and Taney counties.

They’ll be carrying FEMA photo identification badges and could ask for personal information to speed up the process.

The Disaster Survivor Assistance teams could ask for any of the following information:

• Phone number where you can be reached.
• Your social security number.
• Your current mailing address.
• Address of the affected property.
• Brief description of the damage.
• Insurance information including your policy number.

Bollinger, Butler, Douglas, Dunklin, Gasconade, Jasper, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone and Texas counties will see representatives at a later date.

Home inspectors will be out and about soon, contacting homeowners and renters to meet to verify flood damage from April 28 to May 11. They will also have photo identifiation.

If you apply for a disaster loan with the U.S. Small Business Administration, a loss verifier will inspect the damage.

You can register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-3362 from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. or online. More information is available here.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local Sports

More Local Sports

World News

More World News
Viewer Panel Sign Up

Trending Stories

Washington DC Bureau

Washington DC Bureau

Newsfeed Now

More Newsfeed Now

Big Game Station