Disaster aid expanded to 6 additional Missouri counties

FEMA, Federal Emergency Management Agency-159532.JPG94981756

When disaster strikes, this D.C. command center is staffed with more than 200 workers from across government who specialize in 15 emergency support functions, which are key concerns that must be addressed in the aftermath of a disaster, like transportation, logistics, search and rescue, and public health.

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) – Missouri residents hit by flooding or severe storms in six additional counties can now access federal aid.

Gov. Mike Parson on Tuesday announced the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved the state’s request to expand a federal major disaster declaration.

The newly included counties are Callaway, Jefferson, Lewis, McDonald, Newton, and Saline counties.

The declaration means residents hurt by flooding or storms from April 29 to July 5 can apply for help with temporary housing, home repairs and replacement of belongings.

President Donald Trump on July 9 approved federal disaster assistance for residents in 20 other counties. Parson’s office says so far, more than 1,000 households in those counties have received a total of close to $5 million in federal aid

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local Sports

More Local Sports

World News

More World News

Trending Stories

Washington DC Bureau

Washington DC Bureau

Newsfeed Now

More Newsfeed Now