2 Missouri Educators Recognized by White House


JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — In a news release from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, two Missouri educators were awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching by the White House.

Christina Hwande and Tamara Stine are among more than 140 people who received recognition this year.

Hwande is an Elementary Science Specialist and K-5 science teacher at Ralph M. Captain Elementary in Clayton, Missouri. Stine works as a numeracy coach and elementary math teacher at Bowerman Elementary in Springfield after having spent 16 years at Ozark South Elementary. They will each visit the nation’s capital to be acknowledged during a series of professional events.

They will also receive a presidential citation and participate in discussions on STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) education priorities. Hwande and Stine will also receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

“We are extremely proud of these two educators for their dedication to Missouri students,” Interim Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Dr. Roger Dorson said. “They have demonstrated excellence in their fields and have helped spark a love for learning in Missouri’s students.”

Established in 1983, it is the highest award K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teachers can receive from the U.S. government. 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Local Sports

More Local Sports

National News

More National

World News

More World News

Trending Stories

Washington DC Bureau

Washington DC Bureau

Newsfeed Now

More Newsfeed Now

TLC Properties