Officials Designate 23 Arkansas Counties as Disaster Areas

By KOLR10 News

Published 07/23 2014 04:18PM

Updated 07/23 2014 04:22PM

WASHINGTON D.C. – In an announcement Wednesday, officials say 23 Arkansas counties have been designated as disaster areas, which allows farmers and ranchers to receive assistance to recover from losses caused by June’s flash flooding.

“The severe weather conditions in Arkansas last month brought flash flooding, hail, and other destructive forces of nature that were devastating to agriculture producers in the path of these storms,” says Senator John Boozman. “As a result of this declaration, farmers will now be eligible to apply for emergency loans through the FSA to help them recover their losses and continue operations. Considering that agriculture makes up a large portion of our state’s economy, this relief is essential to many Arkansans who faced significant losses as a result of these storms.”

Under the disaster designation, agricultural producers in Cross, Jackson, Independence, Lee, Lonoke, Monroe, Prairie, St. Francis, White, and Woodruff Counties will be eligible to apply for assistance from the Farm Service Agency, including emergency loans.

Arkansas, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Faulkner, Izard, Jefferson, Lawrence, Phillips, Poinsett, Pulaski, Sharp, and Stone Counties have been named contiguous disaster counties.

Arkansans can reach out to their local FSA offices for more information.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Top Videos