11 Arkansas Counties Declared Federal Disaster Areas After Severe Storms

Published 06/25 2013 05:50PM

Updated 07/03 2013 09:08AM

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced Tuesday afternoon that 11 counties in Arkansas have been declared a federal disaster area as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred May 30 through June 3, 2013.

Counties included in the declaration are Cleburne, Cross, Independence, Montgomery, Poinsett, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Stone, Van Buren and Woodruff. 

The declaration provides for Public Assistance Grants which includes assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities in those counties.
The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program is also provided in the declaration, which is assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

All counties in the state are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.