Arkansas Primary Results: Ross, Hutchinson Get Governor Nods

By Matt Lupoli |

Published 05/20 2014 09:18PM

Updated 05/20 2014 10:21PM

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Republican Asa Hutchinson and Democrat Mike Ross, both former congressmen, clinched their parties' nominations for Arkansas governor in Tuesday's primary.

The two were already projected to win their respective primary races before the results were tallied, and the votes show the two earned their party's candidacy by overwhelming margins.

Full Coverage: Get Election Results

The majority of contested races were on the Republican side. Many Democrats ran unopposed, but GOP candidates faced each other in five state-wide elections -- governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, auditor and treasurer.  

Congressman Tim Griffin won the Republican party’s nomination for Lieutenant Governor. Congresswoman Andrea Lea is the projected winner for auditor.

The attorney general and treasurer races were close and were still undetermined at 10 p.m. Tuesday night.

The U.S. Senate race will be hotly-contested, but U.S. Rep. Tom Cotton and incumbent U.S. Sen. Mark Pryor are running unopposed within their parties.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Top Videos